Abstinence: The Church asks all the faithful age 14 and older to abstain from meat on Ash Wednesday (March 1) and all Fridays of Lent. (See also Penance.)

Fasting: All the faithful ages 18 to 59 are obligated to fast on Ash Wednesday (March 1) and Good Friday (April 14). Limit yourself to a single full meal and two smaller ones during the day, with no food between meals.

Easter Duty: All Catholics who have been initiated into the Holy Eucharist are expected to receive Holy Communion at least once a year, between the First Sunday of Lent (March 5) and Trinity Sunday (June 11).

Penance: All Fridays throughout the year and Lent are penitential days for prayerful remembrance of the Passion of Jesus Christ. While abstinence in a true spirit of penance is commended, individuals may substitute other practices of voluntary self-denial or personal penance, such as acts of temperance, prayer, or charity.


Share →

A View from the Pew

pew icon_gold

OLQM Stewardship Video

stewardship video icon_gold

Join Our Church

join our church icon_gold